• TheDMonline.com Staff Member?
  • Log In
Share |

Robertson named SEC Indoor Field Athlete of the Year


BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – After a fantastic performance at the recent Southeastern Conference Indoor Track and Field Championships, Ole Miss junior Ricky Robertson has been named the SEC Men’s Indoor Field Athlete of the Year. 

Robertson became only the third person in league history to win three or more men’s indoor high jump titles with his victory in the event last weekend in Lexington, Ky. He has now won every possible SEC high jump crown since his college career began (five overall, three indoor). 

The Hernando, Miss., native tied for the SEC’s Cliff Harper Trophy, which recognizes the high-points scorer on both the men’s and women’s sides. He tied Kentucky distance runner Luis Orta with 20 overall points. In addition to tying the UK facility record in the high jump (7-4.50, NCAA automatic qualifying mark), Robertson also placed fourth in the long jump (24-9.75) and fourth in the triple jump (51-7). He now ranks fifth in the NCAA in the high jump, 13th in the triple jump and 30th in the long jump. 

Robertson is the first Rebel man to achieve SEC Indoor Athlete of the Year status. Ole Miss has had the SEC Men’s Outdoor Athlete of the Year three times (Pablo Sierra in 1993, Barnabas Kirui in 2007 and 2010) and the SEC Women’s Athlete of the Year three times (Brittney Reese in 2007 outdoor, 2008 indoor and 2008 outdoor). Robertson was the SEC Freshman Field Athlete of the Year in both indoor and outdoor in 2010. 

With his sharing of the Cliff Harper Trophy, Robertson became the second Rebel man to score the most points at an SEC indoor championship (Tony Dees in 1984). Barnabas Kirui achieved the feat twice at the SEC outdoor meet, and Brittney Reese did it twice on the women’s side.