• TheDMonline.com Staff Member?
  • Log In
Share |

Moore, Kirui named Capital One Academic All-Americans

Nick Toce/Ole Miss Sports Information


Ole Miss’ Lee Ellis Moore and Barnabas Kirui have been selected as 2011 Capital One Academic All-Americans in men’s track & field/cross country, the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA) announced Tuesday. 

Moore was named to the Academic All-America first team for the second straight year. He was also a third-team honoree in 2009. Kirui was tabbed to the second team this year after getting first-team honors in 2007. 

A native of Cordova, Tenn., Moore graduated in May after compiling a 3.94 GPA as a biology major with a chemistry minor. He was voted the 2011 SEC Men’s Track & Field Scholar-Athlete of the Year by the league coaches and plans to attend medical school with the help of several different prestigious scholarships. The Cordova, Tenn., native received the Taylor Medal, which is the highest academic honor a student can receive at the University of Mississippi, and he was recently awarded a prestigious NCAA postgraduate scholarship for his future studies. 

On the track this year, Moore was the SEC champion in the 400 meter hurdles and placed sixth in the event at the NCAA Outdoor Championships to earn All-America first team honors. He helped the Rebel men to a No. 19 final national ranking. 

Kirui, a native of Litein, Kenya, earned his bachelor’s degree in accounting last year with a 3.40 cumulative GPA. He began working toward a master’s in accounting in the fall of 2010 while competing in his final cross country season and boasts a 3.33 GPA in graduate school. He was also awarded a prestigious NCAA postgraduate scholarship this year. 

Kirui capped off his Rebel career with his third SEC Cross Country Championship in 2010. His career accomplishments also include an NCAA outdoor track and field title in the 3,000-meter steeplechase, four SEC track and field individual titles, two SEC Outdoor Runner of the Year awards and three SEC Cross Country Athlete of the Year awards. He was a two-time All-American and holds the majority of Ole Miss’ record times for long-distance events.